Boscobel House and its Royal Oak tree became famous as hiding places of King Charles II after defeat at the Battle of Worcester in 1651. A house with a multi-layered history as it was converted into a timber framed hunting lodge with hiding places in the 1620s by the Roman Catholic Giffard family. After Charles’s visit Boscobel remained a working farm, and today you can visit the lodge, farmyard, gardens and a descendant of The Royal Oak. Visitors can see the priest hole where Charles hid as well try on armour and children can dress up as Roundheads or Cavaliers in the education and family room. White Ladies Priory, another of Charles's hiding places, is a short walk away.
Free for English Heritage members, although there may be ad additional small charge on event days.
Adult, senior, child and family tickets are available for non-members.
The site will be closed from 30 December 2019 until early summer 2020 due to developments taking place to improve the visitor facilities.
Please visit the English Heritage website for more information.